no fiber, just garden

20170406 TomatoSeedlings

I’m in the land of the giant tomato plants this morning. Actually, these guys are happily thriving under their grow light – now several weeks old and due for a repotting, the seedlings are about 2-3 inches tall and getting their second leaves (not counting the cotyledons). Their flat neighbors are peppers and lettuce. The lettuce will get planted out next week and the peppers will take up the space after the transplanting day. This is a canning and preserving summer, so I really want a lot of tomatoes and peppers.

Not seen here is a flat with cucumbers, Swiss chard, butternut squash, and Casper pumpkins – just ’cause I like ‘weird’ plants. The cukes look like giants compared to the whispy chard seedlings, who just poked their ‘noses’ up out of the seedling mix today.

20170406 Rhubarb

Rhubarb! Yay! What more do I need to say about this? They share a bed with black and red currants and a Veteran peach (seen in his winter wrap, which I haven’t taken off yet).

20170406 Blueberries

The blueberry flowers are about to pop, too. The seemingly empty plot behind this plant is full of blueberry plants of various varieties. This diversity gives us enough blueberries to nibble at all summer, beginning in July. The metal tubs at the other side of the yard are planted with ever-bearing strawberries, which do the same thing (if we get to the fruit before the chipmunks do).

20170406 Julius

Our kitty, Julius – a.k.a. the gardening supervisor – is helping inspect the blueberries. He was talking up a storm when he came out to see what I was doing, but went quiet when I pressed the video record button on my camera. So, no video this time. Maybe in the future, when I get more than my own plaintive voice calling him to get his attention. He’s often following me around, commenting on my work, and protecting me from my hand tools while I’m out in the garden. He’s a big “help”.

2 thoughts on “no fiber, just garden

  1. Looking good Sis.😊 We too, have working out side. We lost 3 of our roses. They were about 20 years old. With the gas spill 2 years ago it has stressed all of our plants. We lost my favorite nectarine tree. We planted a baby pear tree to replace it. We are down to 3 blue berry bushes, having lost 3 to the gas spill. But we have had some really high water this spring that has helped flush out our lovely tailings so I look forward to a better growing year. 😊 I am encouraged by your pictures.
    I am working on Gordon’ graduation quilt for next spring. We will deliver Colin’ in May when we go to Idaho Falls.
    Keep up the good work. I am looking forward to enjoying your garden with you in May. 🤗

    Like

Leave a Reply

