Whoosh! Went January!

Oh. My. That went fast! It seems like just yesterday – or at least last week – that we were just getting back from our Christmas holiday in Las Vegas. Since then, we’ve spent two weeks in Mexico (missing the 2017 “Snowmaggedon” event completely!) and I’ve even completed a couple of projects.

FO #1: Socks! These are the first socks I’ve made with my handspun yarn, and they’re for me. (Not sure why WordPress is insisting on rotating my image, but I’m not going to worry about meta data today.) I knitted these with Staci Perry’s toe-up TAAT Magic Loop pattern, and find that they fit really well. 20170126_seaofcortezsocks1

FO #2: A hat for Grandson, who is 14 on Valentine’s Day. The yarn was given to me a couple of years ago, and is a handpainted superwash merino sock yarn by The Sanguine Gryphon in their Prince Edward Island colorway. Knitted on US 5 circular, held double. Should be cozy and warm for Madras, Oregon springtime!20170131_joshs14thbdhat

WIP #1 continues to be B’s scarf, knitted on a US size 2 circular in handspun 85% merino / 15% silk blend. Kinda slow going, so we hope it will be finished before the start of the 2017-18 season for Oregon Symphony. It’s a goal.

WIP #2 is a quick pair of socks for GrandDaughter, again toe-up TAAT Magic Loop. This will be my project to keep my hands busy while B is in the hospital with his shoulder surgery tomorrow. That, and an audio book on my smart phone & I’m all set for hours of waiting.

Spinning: Not much. I had promised B that I would finish sewing the curtains for the dining room before I did any more spinning. Auto-magically, viola!, the curtains got done yesterday. ‘Cause I wanted to spin. 🙂 So, for spinning, I’m plying the shetland / native-dyed merino that I spun last month (!). I also spun up a ball of pale yellow / light tan / bright orange yellow singles yesterday, just to have something colorful to spin. I experimented with carding together the three colors so I have short color runs in the singles. I will probably chain ply it and then knit up a swatch to see what it looks like.

I haven’t started carding or flicking the Romney locks yet, but will be doing so soon. I’m kind of making myself work on the Shetland first. I know how I am!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Whoosh! Went January!

  1. You didn’t say any thing about the warmth and sunshine you enjoyed. I know you didn’t want to globe to we snow shoveling folk.😊 Your projects turned out very well!! I bet that lovely fiber running through your fingers was wonderful. I never am sure what part I like best. I think I might just be a fiber junky.🙄 Glad you are home and had a good trip. I will call you later in the week so you can tell me all about it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

